Death Sentence Change

Death Sentence Change

Day three after I got my death sentence diagnosis, I experience severe headaches. I have been taking acetaminophen which had been inferior to ibuprofen in my experience. But in fear of post-operative bleeding on my right breast biopsy cuts, I opt to stay away from ibuprofen. You know, it can cause bleeding. My headaches hardly go away completely and I have been taking naps throughout the day.

In between, I answer questions via e-mail, texts, and phone with a few but dear people who care about my well-being. I have support. Thank goodness.

I also get myself busy educating myself about breast cancer. I have browsed through pages of all the books pictured above and watched three DVDs.

One DVD, Fighting for our Future, does not apply to me but I watched it anyway. It is for breast cancer patients in their 20’s and 30’s. I am forty so I probably fall into middle-age category. The bulk of it covers interviews of young women fighting breast cancer and how their age group is under represented with breast cancer related studies.

Cancer and Diet DVD by Dr. Sherman N.D. covers “naturopathic” view on cancer with emphasis on eating organic to avoid pesticides, and raw or cooked foods cooked in no more than 115 degrees temperature (just passed steaming and boiling temperatures).

I like Anti Cancer DVD with Dr. David Servan-Schreiber. A cancer survivor himself, his emotional media covers his experience from doctor, to patient, to healer. He also goes over the Anticancer plate which consists of mostly vegetables and whole grains, the reverse of a typical American Diet, he says.

With what I have learned so far, I will serve more steam vegetables and soups, whole grains, beans, fruits, salmon, sardines, and green tea. I will stick with extra virgin olive oil and canola oil for my stir-fry.

With treatment and healthy foods, I can change my death sentence, prolong my life, and my children’s.

I can do these.


2 thoughts on “Death Sentence Change

  1. As someone who’s just gone through the mill of treatment for Stage 1 breast cancer – it sucks. It’s scary. It’s not what you want to be doing with your life.

    And it’s NOT a death sentence anymore than being born is a death sentence.

    It’s ok to be scared, to be angry, to be sad…. it’s all part of being human. But know also that you can get through this, that it will be hard, but that you can do it.

    Namaste.

Leave a comment

